The Student News Site of University of Arizona

The Daily Wildcat

73° Tucson, AZ

The Daily Wildcat

The Daily Wildcat


Golf wins Arizona Intercollegiate

The Arizona men’s golf team finished its first tournament of the spring season with a one-stroke victory over No. 10 California in the Arizona Intercollegiate, held at Arizona National Golf Club.

This is the sixth time Arizona has won the tournament in its 32-year history and the first time since 2004. It’s also the sixth time in tournament history that the title has been decided by one stroke. The last time was a California victory over Arizona in 2010.

Arizona (-17) had two individuals place in the top three of the 54-hole tournament — Juan Pablo Hernandez (-7) and Tucker Wadkins (-5). New Mexico’s John Catlin (-10) won the individual title.

Sophomores Chris Capo and Erik Oja finished in the tournament’s top ten. The win is the 72nd in Arizona’s history; 62 of those victories have come under head coach Rick LaRose. The win is also Arizona’s third in the last three seasons and the first since the Anteater Invitational last February.

Arizona, Cal and New Mexico were the only teams in the 12-team field to finish under par.

The Wildcats continue the spring season at the John A. Burns Intercollegiate in Honolulu, which begins Feb. 15.

More to Discover
Activate Search