The Student News Site of University of Arizona

The Daily Wildcat

90° Tucson, AZ

The Daily Wildcat

The Daily Wildcat


Pac-12 tournament viewing guide

Tyler Baker
Tyler Baker / The Daily Wildcat during Arizona’s 79-66 victory over Stanford in McKale on Sunday. Arizona took home the PAC 12 championship trouphy and cut the net.

The 17th Pacific Life Pac-12 Conference tournament will be staged from March 12-15 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

The winner of the tournament will receive an automatic bid to the 2014 NCAA tournament.

The announcers will be Kevin Calabro, Ernie Kent, Ted Robinson, Don MacLean, Aaron Goldsmith and former UA star Sean Elliott, who won Most Outstanding Player at the Pac-10 tournament twice.

Tip offs are PDT/MST.

Game 1: No. 8 seed Utah (20-10, 9-9) vs. No. 9 Washington (17-14, 9-9)
Wednesday at 12:06 p.m., Pac-12 Networks

The Utes take on the Huskies for the third time this year. The winner of the match will face Arizona in the quarterfinals on Thursday.

They split the season series, but the Huskies lead the all-time series 8-7. The Utes have struggled on the road this year and have won only two Pac-12 road games coming against USC and Cal. Washington has won the conference tournament three times as well.

Game 2: No. 5 Colorado (21-10, 10-8) vs. No. 12 USC (11-20, 2-16)
Wednesday at 2:36 p.m., Pac-12 Networks

Colorado claimed its first Pac-12 Conference title in 2012 over Arizona in its first year in the league. CU won both contests against USC this year.

Game 3: No. 7 Oregon (22-8, 10-8) vs. No. 10 Oregon State (16-14, 8-10)
Wednesday at 6:06 p.m., Pac-12 Networks

In-state rivals Oregon and Oregon State will play for a chance to advance to the quarterfinals against UCLA. They split the series this season, but Oregon State still holds a 185-156 advantage in the all-time series.

The Ducks and the Bruins are tied for the second-most Pac-12 tournament titles with three apiece, while the Beavers have yet to win a conference tournament championship.

Game: 4: No. 6 Stanford (19-11, 10-8) vs. No. 11 Washington State (10-20, 3-15)
Wednesday at 8:36 p.m., Pac-12 Networks

The Cardinal will face the Cougars tonight to determine who will face Arizona State in the quarterfinals. While Stanford won its sole championship in 2004, the Cardinal has not made it to the finals since 2008.

Game 5: Game 1 winner vs. No. 1 Arizona (28-3, 15-3)
Thursday at 12:06 p.m., Pac-12 Networks

After clinching a first round bye, Arizona will be pitted against the winner of the Washington/Utah game.

The Wildcats will begin their quest to claim their fifth Pac-12 Conference championship in program history. The UA’s four conference tournament titles — earned in 1988, 1989, 1990 and 2002 — represent a league high.

Arizona defeated Washington 71-62 in the teams’ only meeting of the year and has beaten Utah 65-56 at home and 67-63 in overtime on the road.

Game 6: Game 2 winner vs. No. 4 California (19-12, 10-8)
Thursday at 2:36 p.m., Pac-12 Networks

After clinching a first round bye, Cal will be pitted against the winner of the USC/Colorado game.

Cal comes into the tournament fresh off of a come-from-behind 66-65 overtime victory over Colorado in the teams’ only matchup of the year. The Golden Bears split two decisions with USC earlier in the season.

Game 7: Game 3 winner vs. No. 2 UCLA (23-8, 12-6)
Thursday at 6:06 p.m., Pac-12 Networks

After clinching a first round bye, UCLA will play the winner of the Oregon State/Oregon game.

The Bruins won Pac-10 tournament championships in 1987, 2006 and 2008. They almost won the tournament last year as a No. 1 seed, but were upset by the No. 3 seed Oregon, 78-69, in the title contest.

This season, UCLA has split the series with Oregon and Oregon State down the middle, but has lost four of the last five contests against the Ducks.

Game 8: Game 4 winner vs. No. 3 ASU (21-10, 10-8)
Thursday at 8:40 p.m., Fox Sports 1

After clinching a first round bye, ASU will be pitted against the winner of the Washington State/Stanford game.

ASU is one of the Pac-12’s five teams to never have won a conference tournament championship. The Sun Devils advanced to one tournament championship in 2009 and ultimately lost to USC 66-63 in the final game.

Over the past three tournaments, ASU has lost in the first round twice and made it as far as the quarterfinals. However, the Sun Devils split a series against Stanford earlier this year and defeated Washington State in their only meeting.

Semifinal 1
Friday at 6:06 p.m., Pac-12 Networks

If the UA wins their opener, they will play in this game.

Semifinal 2
Friday at 8:40 p.m., Fox Sports 1

Championship game
Saturday at 3:02 p.m., Fox Sports 1

—Follow Evan Rosenfeld @EvanRosenfeld17

More to Discover
Activate Search