The Student News Site of University of Arizona

The Daily Wildcat

81° Tucson, AZ

The Daily Wildcat

The Daily Wildcat


W-hoops racks up conference awards

Arizona women’s basketball players Davellyn Whyte and Ify Ibekwe joined their male counterparts Nic Wise and Derrick Williams  Tuesday as Pacific 10 Conference postseason award winners.

Whyte, a freshman guard who led the Wildcats in scoring this season with 16.0 points per game, was awarded Pac-10 Freshman of the Year. She also managed to set a school record on Jan. 16 after scoring 39 points against the Oregon Ducks during a 119-112 Wildcat victory in McKale Center.

As Arizona women’s most prolific player over the last three seasons, junior forward Ibekwe was awarded the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year award after finishing the season as the only player in the conference to record double-double averages with 13.9 points and 11.3 rebounds per game.

Ibekwe’s shining accomplishment of the season came against the Washington Huskies on Feb. 6 when she became only the 16th player in Arizona women’s history to record 1,000 points on her career.

Both Ibekwe and Whyte also received All Pac-10 award honors.


More to Discover
Activate Search