The Student News Site of University of Arizona

The Daily Wildcat

96° Tucson, AZ

The Daily Wildcat

The Daily Wildcat


Scooby Wright wins Bronko Nagurski award

On Monday Arizona sophomore linebacker Scooby Wright won the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, as the nation’s most outstanding defensive player.

Wright is the UA’s second Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner, following Rob Waldrop in 1993.

Wright beat out Malcom Brown of Texas, Landon Collins of Alabama, Senquez Golson of Ole Miss and Gerod Holliman of Louisville.

Twitter Tweet

Wright has 153 total tackles, 28.0 tackles for a loss, 14 sacks and six forced fumbles this year.

The Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year is in the top five among FBS players for total tackles, tackles for loss, sacks and forced fumbles. Wright is the only FBS player in the top 25 of each of those categories.

Wright is headed next to Houston for the Rotary Lombardi Award event on Wednesday and then to Orlando, Fla. for the ESPN College Football Awards show on Thursday.

Twitter Tweet


Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright wins Bronko Nagurski Trophy


Scooby Wright wins Nagurski award


UA football: Wright wins prestigious Nagurski Award


Arizona LB Scooby Wright wins Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Scooby Wright III Wins Bronko Nagurski Trophy

YouTube Player

More to Discover
Activate Search