The Student News Site of University of Arizona

The Daily Wildcat

90° Tucson, AZ

The Daily Wildcat

The Daily Wildcat


Arizona broadcasters to be swapped out

Because of the Pac-12 Network, Arizona basketball games will never be the same, at least from a broadcaster standpoint. The Wildcats will no longer have a broadcast team at home, because every game has either been picked up by the Pac-12 Network or one of its national broadcast partners.

The conference announced the lineup for broadcasters Tuesday, and only one person has any ties to the Wildcats.

Former UA guard Matt Muehlebach, a current Arizona radio broadcaster, will not necessarily be assigned to television broadcasts, and according to the Arizona Daily Star, the UA does not have a backup radio broadcaster in the event that Muehlebach does a television broadcast.

Arizona’s former announcers, Dave Sitton and Corey Williams, are not a part of the Pac-12 Network broadcast lineup but did all Wildcat games on either Fox Sports Arizona or games that were not picked up by national networks.

Here is the list of notable broadcasters responsible for basketball broadcasts with Pac-12 ties:


— Matt Muehlebach, former Arizona guard
— Don MacLean, former UCLA player
— Ernie Kent, former Oregon coach
— Lenny Wilkens, Hall of Fame player and coach
— Detlef Schrempf, former Washington and NBA player
— Brevin Knight, former Stanford and NBA player
— Lamar Hurd, former Oregon State guard
— Joe Cravens, former Utah coach

Play-by-play announcers:

— Kevin Calabro, Pac-12 Networks football announcer and former Seattle Supersonics play-by-play man
— Ted Robinson, Pac-12 Networks football announcer and current radio announcer for San Francisco 49ers
— Roxy Bernstein, Cal play-by-play announcer

More to Discover
Activate Search