The Student News Site of University of Arizona

The Daily Wildcat

89° Tucson, AZ

The Daily Wildcat

The Daily Wildcat


Miller named Coach of the Year in Pac-12, four Wildcat players recognized

Tyler Baker

Arizona men’s basketball head coach Sean Miller throws his arms up following the Wildcats’ last-minute victory over California in McKale Center on Mar. 3, 2016. The Arizona Board of Regents extended his contract until 2022 on Thursday.

The Pac-12 Conference announced their 2017 conference accolades on Monday afternoon, and four Arizona players, along with head coach Sean Miller, were selected to various All-Pac-12 teams.

No Wildcat player was given an individual award, but Miller was awarded the conference’s Coach of the Year award. Miller guided the Wildcats through adversity all season, and led them to their fourth regular season Pac-12 championship during his tenure. He won his 100th Pac-12 Conference game this season, and his winning percentage in the conference (.743) is third all-time behind John Wooden (.810) and Lute Olson (.764). It is the third time in eight seasons at Arizona that Miller has been recognized as the Pac-12’s top coach. 

Freshman forward Lauri Markkanen was the only Wildcat who appeared on the All-Pac-12 First Team. The talented freshman appeared on the All-Freshman Team as well. Markkanen averaged 14.6 points and 7.6 rebounds per game while shooting 42 percent from 3-point range in Pac-12 play.

Fellow freshman Rawle Alkins made the All-Freshman team after averaging 10.1 points and 5.3 rebounds during conference play.

Despite playing in just 12 conference games this season, sophomore Allonzo Trier made the All-Pac-12 Second Team after averaging 16.4 points and 5.0 rebounds in conference play.

Defensive standout Kadeem Allen was named to the All-Defensive team after leading Arizona on the defensive side of the ball all season. Many thought Allen may have been in the running for Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, but the award was given to Oregon’s Jordan Bell.

Arizona begins play in the Pac-12 tournament on Thursday, March 9th at 6 p.m. MST in Las Vegas. They face the winner of the first round matchup between the Washington State Cougars and the Colorado Buffaloes.

Follow Christopher Deak on Twitter

More to Discover
Activate Search