The Student News Site of University of Arizona

The Daily Wildcat

78° Tucson, AZ

The Daily Wildcat

The Daily Wildcat


Pac-12 Tournament timeline

1987 UCLA wins first Pac-10 tournament, held in Pauley Pavilion in Los Angeles

1988 Pac-10 tournament held in McKale Center. Arizona wins and Wildcat Sean Elliot is named Most Outstanding Player.

1989 The tournament is held in the Great Western Forum, the former home of the Los Angeles Lakers. Arizona wins again and Elliot is Most Outstanding Player again.

1990 Arizona wins championship at the Activity Center at ASU.

2002 Pac-10 tournament returns and begins run at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. Arizona wins again.

2003 Oregon ends Arizona’s championship streak.

2004 17-1 Stanford wins the championship.

2005 Washington beats Arizona to win the championship.

2006 All 10 teams are invited for the first time. UCLA becomes the fifth different team in five years to win the Pac-10 tournament.

2007 Oregon wins before a record 84,477 fans over four days.

2008 UCLA wins championship, then goes to third straight Final Four.

2009 No. 6 seed USC becomes the lowest seed to win the title

2010 Washington wins championship.

2011 UW beats Arizona in the championship game to win its second game in a row.

2012 The Pac-10 becomes the Pac-12 and newbie Colorado beats Arizona in the title game

2013 Pac-12 tournament moves to Las Vegas. Oregon becomes the fifth team in the last six years to win the championship.

—Follow James Kelley @JamesKelley520

More to Discover
Activate Search