The Student News Site of University of Arizona

The Daily Wildcat

87° Tucson, AZ

The Daily Wildcat

The Daily Wildcat


Stoops named semifinalist for National Coach of Year

Luke Adams
UA Football Headshots 08 04 2008

Mike Stoops has been named a semifinalist for the 21st George Munger Award for College Coach of the Year, the Maxwell Football Club announced today.

The Wildcats are No. 18 in the BCS standings, No. 21 in the AP poll and No. 19 in the USA Today Coach’s Poll.

The winner will be announced in December. Here are the full results: 

2009 Semifinalists for George Munger Award

Mack Brown, University of Texas

Kirk Ferentz, University of Iowa

Al Golden, Temple University

Paul Johnston, Georgia Tech

Brian Kelly, University of Cincinnati

Chip Kelly, University of Oregon

Urban Meyer, University of Florida

Joseph Paterno, Penn State University

Gary Patterson, Texas Christian University

Chris Petersen, Boise State University

Nick Saban, University of Alabama

Randy Shannon, University of Miami

Mike Stoops, University of Arizona

Kevin Sumlin, University of Houston

Dave Wannstedt, University of Pittsburgh

More to Discover
Activate Search