The Student News Site of University of Arizona

The Daily Wildcat

92° Tucson, AZ

The Daily Wildcat

The Daily Wildcat


“Hernandez, Allen both disqualified from ASUA presidential race”

Both Daniel Hernandez and James Allen have been disqualified from the ASUA presidential race due to an excess amount of campaign violations. Due to the disqualification, a runoff election will be held sometime in the coming weeks.

Had the results stood, Allen would have defeated Hernandez 2,009 votes to 1,004.

ASUA Elections Commissioner Michael Colletti refused to say which violations both campaigns had committed, though Allen indicated his intent to appeal the violations.

Other election results are listed below:

Senate (top 10 win election):

Josh Ruder, 1731 votes

Danielle Dobrusin, 1372 votes

Chad Travis, 1269 votes

Shan Harris, 1158 votes

Kevin Elliott, 1066 votes

Jason Brown, 1065 votes

Chandni Patel, 1030 votes

Erik Lundstrom, 930 votes

Blanca Delgado, 900 votes

Marielos Castro, 836 votes

Michael Weingarnter, 767 votes

Nina Gubisic, 766 votes

Carlita Cotton, 718 votes

Jarrett Benkendorfer, 702 votes

Dylan Janis, 651 votes

Kyira Hankton, 556 votes

Raymond Arvizu, 541 votes

Robert Rosinski, 470 votes


Administrative Vice President:

Brett Ponton, 1,794 votes 

Brittany Steinke, 798 votes


Executive Vice President:

Bryan Ponton, 1,777 votes

Monica Ruiz, 888 votes



Michael Colletti, ASUA elections commissioner is refusing to give specifics on election code violations.


Both presidential candidates James Allen and Daniel Hernandez Jr. have been disqualified


Brett Ponton is administrative vice president and Bryan Ponton is executive vice president


Shan Harris

Kevin Elliott

Jason Brown

Chandi Patel

Erik Lundstrom

Blanca Delgado

Marielos Castro


Senate results:

Josh Ruder

Danielle Dobrusin

Chad Travis


ASUA President Emily Fritze announced another 10 minutes. Team Red has arrived with Daniel Hernandez Jr., Brittany Steinke, Erik Lundstrom, Monica Ruiz, and Chandni Patel.


People chanted “”Chad”” as Sen. Chad Travis entered.


8:30 p.m.

Lots of people cheered when James Allen, Bryan Ponton and Brett Ponton arrived.

More to Discover
Activate Search