The Student News Site of University of Arizona

The Daily Wildcat

85° Tucson, AZ

The Daily Wildcat

The Daily Wildcat


    What is the Territorial Cup?

    In 2001, the NCAA deemed the Territorial Cup, established in 1899, as the oldest trophy for a rivalry game in college football.

    The silver-plated Cup is among three trophies awarded to the annual winner between Arizona and ASU:

    – A replica of the Cup goes to the winning team on the field after the game. The actual trophy is placed in the school’s athletic hall of fame.

    – The Ben Goo Trophy, named for the sculptor Ben Goo, is the game’s de-facto Most Valuable Player award.

    – The Saguaro Trophy, a bronze work created by artist Dora Perry in 1998, is given to the winning coach.

    The Cup was lost for nearly 50 years after the 1952 game. Three trophies – the Governor’s Trophy (1953-1979); the Ben Goo (1980-1997); and the Saguaro (1998-2000) – were awarded to the UA-ASU winner until the Cup was found in 2001 in the basement of a church set for demolition.

    – Compiled by Tom Knauer

    Sources: Arizona Athletics, ASU Athletics

    More to Discover
    Activate Search